SHSND Home > Exhibits > Online Exhibits > North Dakota Governors

Exhibits - North Dakota Governors Online Exhibit

blue triangle 0012-200 Governor's Reception Room, State Capitol Bismarck ND, 1933

Governors of Dakota Territory

Governors of the State of North Dakota

John Miller (R) 1889-1891
Andrew H. Burke (R) 1891-1893
Eli C. D. Shortridge (Pop) 1893-1895
Roger Allin (R) 1895-1897
Frank A. Briggs (R) 1897-1898
Joseph M. Devine (R) 1898-1899
Frederick B. Fancher (R) 1899-1901
Frank White (R) 1901-1905
Elmore Y. Sarles (R) 1905-1907
John Burke (D) 1907-1913
Louis B. Hanna (R) 1913-1917
Lynn J. Frazier (R) 1917-1921
Ragnvald A. Nestos (R) 1921-1925
Arthur G. Sorlie (R) 1925-1928
Walter J. Maddock (R) 1928-1929
George F. Shafer (R) 1929-1932
William Langer (1st term) (R) 1933-1934

Ole H. Olson (R) 1934-1935
Thomas H. Moodie (D) 1935-1935
Walter Welford (R) 1935-1937
William Langer (2nd term) (R) 1937-1939
John Moses (D) 1939-1945
Fred G. Aandahl (R) 1945-1951
C. Norman Brunsdale (R) 1951-1957
John E. Davis (R) 1957-1961
William L. Guy (D) 1961-1973
Arthur A. Link (D) 1973-1981
Allen I. Olson (R) 1981-1985
George A. Sinner (D) 1985-1992
Edward T. Schafer (R) 1992-2000
John Hoeven (R) 2000-2010
Jack Dalrymple (R) 2010-2016
Doug Burgum (R) 2016-present

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Appointments are recommended. To schedule an appointment, please contact us at 701.328.2091 or
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666

Social Media:
See all social media accounts