Our state museums and historic sites are back open with some changes and guidelines for the health and safety of our visitors and staff. Learn more

SHSND Home > About Us
go to calendar of events
of events


sign up for e-newsletter
sign up for

About Us

Our Mission: To identify, preserve, interpret, and promote the heritage of North Dakota and its people.

The Society is under the supervision of the 12-member State Historical Board. The board appoints the Director of the State Historical Society of North Dakota to administer the agency and carry out policies and directives. The agency is organized into six divisions:

  • Administration is headed by the Assistant Director and is responsible for overall agency support, budgeting and fiscal matters, personnel management, and security.
  • The Archaeology and Historic Preservation Division protects and manages cultural resources by identifying and recording sites related to North Dakota's prehistory; surveying, identifying and recording structures and sites eligible for listing on the North Dakota Historic Sites Registry; and nominating structures and sites for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. The Director of the State Historical Society of North Dakota serves as the state historic preservation officer. The Director of the Archaeology and Historic Preservation Division is Deputy Historic Preservation Officer. The Division preserves and manages 57 state-owned historic sites ranging in size from nearly 200 acres (Fort Clark State Historic Site) to markers occupying less than a tenth of an acre.
  • The Audience Engagement & Museum Division strives to provide engaging, entertaining and memorable experiences for the public. Our team plans public events and educational opportunities, produces publications and ND history curriculum, manages space rentals, plans museum exhibits, collects and stores artifacts, coordinates our volunteers, and manages the marketing, branding, and digital presence of the agency.
  • Historic sites: preserves and manages 57 state-owned historic sites representative of North Dakota history and culture. These sites range in size from nearly 200 acres (Fort Clark State Historic Site) to markers occupying less than one-tenth acre.
  • The State Archives Division collects, manages and references documentary resources relating to state history and culture. The Division is the official state archives, preserving North Dakota government records of enduring value. Its extensive collections also include the state's official newspapers, books, photographs, maps, manuscript collections and audiovisual materials. The Director of the Division serves as North Dakota State Archivist.
  • State Historical Society of North Dakota activities are headquartered in the North Dakota Heritage Center on the Capitol grounds.

North Dakota State Historical Board

President: H. Patrick Weir
Vice President: Steve C. Martens
Secretary: Daniel Stenberg

Appointed Members

Terms Expiring June 30, 2021
Allan Demaray, New Town
Calvin Grinnell, Bismarck

Terms Expiring June 30, 2022
H. Patrick Weir, Medora
Larry Skogen, Bismarck
Matt Dunlevy, Grand Forks

Terms Expiring June 30, 2023
Daniel Stenberg, Watford City
Steve C. Martens, Fargo

Statutory Members
Sara Otte Coleman, Director, Tourism Division, Department of Commerce
Alvin A. Jaeger, Secretary of State
Melissa Baker, Director, Parks and Recreation Department
Kelly Schmidt, State Treasurer
Sondra Goebel, Representative, Department of Transportation

Senior Staff
Director: Bill Peterson billpeterson@nd.gov
Assistant Director: Andrea Wike abwike@nd.gov
Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer: Fern Swenson fswenson@nd.gov
State Archivist: Shane Molander smolander@nd.gov
Director, Audience Engagement & Museum: Kimberly H. Jondahl kjondahl@nd.gov

Board Meetings
Jan. 10, 2020
April 3, 2020
July 8, 2020
Oct. 9, 2020

Full Staff Listing

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 11 a.m. - 4 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
We are open until noon on Christmas Eve.
State Archives: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 11 a.m. - 4 p.m.
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666
email: history@nd.gov

Social Media:
See all social media accounts