We recommend all visitors follow the CDC’s guidelines when visiting our sites.

SHSND Home > Historic Preservation > Country School House Project
The Archaeology & Historic Preservation File Room is open to cultural resource specialists (contractors) during the hours of 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Monday–Friday. No appointment necessary.

Historic Preservation - Country School House Project

Ingersoll School

In 2009, the theme of the ND Governor's History Conference was education. As part of that conference, the State Historical Society asked members of the public to help document the country school houses that remain on our landscape. Several individuals sent in information about schools but one lady, now known in many parts of the state as "The School Lady," has compiled information on over 650 country schools. Kathy Wilner started with one school in particular, the Ingersoll School, and then decided to do some schools around her county. Over time, she partnered with County Historical Societies and won grants to continue documenting schools around the state. Ms. Wilner was awarded the Heritage Profile Honor Award in 2017.

Hard copies of all the information Ms. Wilner compiled are available for viewing at the County Historical Societies and digital copies are available on this page. In some cases, the names and locations of school have changed over time and these records are based on the information available at the time the record was made. The State Historical Society will continue to add records about country schools as it receives them.

Click a county on the map or in the dropdown below to view a list of country school houses by county, or view the full list.

North Dakota, Map of Counties Adams County Barnes County Benson County Billings County Bottineau County Bowman County Burke County Burleigh County Cass County Cavalier County Dickey County Divide County Dunn County Eddy County Emmons County Foster County Golden Valley County Grand Forks County Grant County Griggs County Hettinger County Kidder County Lamoure County Logan County McHenry County McIntosh County McKenzie County McLean County Mercer County Morton County Mountrail County Nelson County Oliver County Pembina County Pierce County Ramsey County Ransom County Renville County Richland County Rolette County Sargent Counry Sheridan County Sioux County Slope County Stark County Steele County Stutsman County Towner County Traill County Walsh County Ward County Wells County Williams County

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Appointments are recommended. To schedule an appointment, please contact us at 701.328.2091 or archives@nd.gov.
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666
email: history@nd.gov

Social Media:
See all social media accounts