SHSND Home > Historic Preservation > Certified Local Governments > List of CLGs
Preservation50 1966-2016

List of CLGs

The cities of Buffalo, Devils Lake, Dickinson, Fargo, and Grand Forks, as well as Walsh County and Pembina County are all Certified Local Governments. If your historic property lies within the boundaries of one of these local governments, the Historic Preservation Commission or its coordinator should be informed of your decisions regarding your historic property.

How Does a Community Become a CLG? 

  • Contact the State Historical Society of North Dakota.
    Contact person:
    CLG Coordinator
    Historic Preservation Division
    State Historical Society of North Dakota
    612 East Boulevard Avenue
    Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
    (701) 328-2672
  • Draft a local preservation ordinance. (See CLG Procedures Manual for requirements and a model ordinance.)
  • Submit the draft ordinance to the State Historical Society for review.
  • Enact the approved historic preservation ordinance.
  • Choose candidates for the historic preservation commission.(See CLG Procedures Manual for requirements)
  • Submit the list of candidates to the State Historical Society of North Dakota for state approval.
  • Sign a certification agreement with the State Historical Society of North Dakota. (See CLG Procedures Manual for a sample agreement)
  • Application for certification is submitted to the National Park Service for approval.
  • Receive approvals from partner organizations.

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
We will also be closed on Christmas Eve this year.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666