SHSND Home > Historic Preservation > Certified Local Governments > FAQs
The Archaeology & Historic Preservation File Room is open to cultural resource specialists (contractors) during the hours of 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Monday–Friday. No appointment necessary.

CLG - Frequently Asked Questions

What is a CLG?

A CLG is a unit of local (town, city or county) government that has met the requirements of, and has applied for, certification to become a fully participating partner in national and state historic preservation programs. Requirements include passage of an ordinance committing the local government to developing and maintaining an historic preservation program along with a set of management policies, rules and procedures supportive of the professional principles of, and the Secretary of the Interior’s standards for, historic preservation. Upon certification, the CLG may apply for competitive grants to undertake its historic preservation program to protect and enhance the CLG’s historic resources.

What is an Historic Preservation Commission?

The Historic Preservation Commission is a body of local citizens appointed by the chief elected official of the Certified Local Government to implement the designated historic preservation programs and provisions of its own historic preservation ordinance and to conduct the historic preservation business of the CLG on behalf of the local government.

What advantages does the community gain by joining the CLG program?

  • Gains greater control of local preservation issues
  • Gains better access to federal funding for local preservation projects
  • Ability to participate directly in the National Register nomination process
  • Greater access to expertise, assistance, and guidance in resource management

What Responsibilities does a CLG incur?

  • Must enact an ordinance which establishes a historic preservation commission and which includes designation provisions for the identification and registration of historic property and the protection of such property.
  • Must enforce the preservation ordinance.
  • Must appoint and maintain a qualified historic preservation commission.
  • Must abide by the provisions of the certification agreement.
  • Must maintain a system for the survey and inventory of historic properties in the local area.
  • Must provide for adequate public participation in the local historic preservation program.
  • Recommend properties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places.
  • Review National Register of Historic Places nominations that involve properties within the local government’s jurisdiction.
  • Adhere to all federal requirements for CLG Program.
  • If awarded preservation funding, abide by the grant agreement.

Is financial assistance available?

Each year the North Dakota Historic Preservation Office allocates approximately $60,000 for individual CLGs, through a competitive application process. Monies received must be matched with 40% of more of local funds or in kind donations.

How does the CLG program affect me, as an owner of an historic property?

The Historic Preservation Commission may serve as the community’s first source of information on current historic preservation laws, practices and standards applicable to the CLG jurisdiction, may help property owners determine the cultural significance of their properties, and may provide assistance with property nominations to the National Register of Historic Places and the North Dakota State Historic Sites Registry, and with advice on the care and management of culturally significant properties. The HPC also serves as the principal liaison between the community and the State Historic Preservation Office and as the community’s historic resource advisor to the local government and its citizens.

Where are the CLGs in North Dakota?

The cities of Buffalo, Devils Lake, Dickinson, Fargo, and Grand Forks, as well as Walsh County and Pembina County are all Certified Local Governments. If your historic property lies within the boundaries of one of these local governments, the Historic Preservation Commission or its coordinator should be informed of your decisions regarding your historic property.

How Does a Community Become a CLG?

  • Contact the State Historical Society of North Dakota.
    Contact person:
    CLG Coordinator
    Historic Preservation Division
    State Historical Society of North Dakota
    612 East Boulevard Avenue
    Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
    (701) 328-3573
  • Draft a local preservation ordinance. (See CLG Procedures Manual for requirements and a model ordinance.)
  • Submit the draft ordinance to the State Historical Society for review.
  • Enact the approved historic preservation ordinance.
  • Choose candidates for the historic preservation commission.(See CLG Procedures Manual for requirements)
  • Submit the list of candidates to the State Historical Society of North Dakota for state approval.
  • Sign a certification agreement with the State Historical Society of North Dakota. (See CLG Procedures Manual for a sample agreement)
  • Application for certification is submitted to the National Park Service for approval.
  • Receive approvals from partner organizations.

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Appointments are recommended. To schedule an appointment, please contact us at 701.328.2091 or
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666

Social Media:
See all social media accounts