SHSND Home > Historic Preservation > Certified Local Governments
The Archaeology & Historic Preservation File Room is open to cultural resource specialists (contractors) during the hours of 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m., Monday–Friday. No appointment necessary.

Certified Local Governments

content imagefeature bar
partial map of pembina county

List of ND CLGs

The cities of Buffalo, Devils Lake, Dickinson, Fargo, and Grand Forks, as well as Walsh County and Pembina County are all Certified Local Governments. The Historic Preservation Commission or its coordinator should be informed of your decisions regarding your historic property.

drayton church front

Grants Process

A minimum of 10% of the Historic Preservation Funds will be dedicated to Certified Local Governments and available through a competitive grant award to the seven CLGs in North Dakota.

pembina county courthouse industrial mural

Showcase Gallery

View projects that have benefited from CLG grants. If you have a project you would like to showcase here, contact the Historic Preservation Division of the State Historical Society at

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Appointments are recommended. To schedule an appointment, please contact us at 701.328.2091 or
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666

Social Media:
See all social media accounts