SHSND Home Archives State Agencies Oilseed Council
To schedule an appointment, please contact us at 701.328.2091 or

OCLC WorldCat Logo

SHSND Photobook - Digitized images from State Archives

Digital Horizons

2019-2021 Blue Book Cover

Federal Depository Library Program

Chronicling America

Archives - State Agencies - Oilseed Council

[Authorized: NDCC 4-10.2-03 and 4.1-9]

The North Dakota Sunflower Council was created in 1977 under the Sunflower Industry Promotion Act and the state was divided into six sunflower producing districts with one representative from each district serving on the Council (S. L. 1977, Ch. 52). In 1985 (S. L. 1985, Ch. 52) a seventh district was added increasing the Council to seven members with the Agriculture Commissioner as an ex-officio member assuming responsibility for overseeing district elections. 

The objective of the Council was to promote better methods of production, marketing, and processing for sunflowers.  A tax assessment on sunflowers grown or sold in the state was used by the Council for activities including research and advertising.    A chairman was elected from within the Council.  Council members served three-year terms and could serve only two consecutive terms. 

In 1981, the Legislature required several agricultural commodity groups including the Sunflower Council, Beef Commission, Dairy Products Promotion Commission, and the Wheat Commission to share office space and administrative responsibilities (S. L. 1981, Ch. 96).  This was repealed in 2005 (S. L. 2005, Ch. 68).

In 1989, the Sunflower Council integrated growers of all oilseed crops including canola (or rapeseed), safflower, crambe, and flax and the name was changed to the North Dakota Oilseed Council (S. L. 1989, Ch. 76). Membership to the Council increased to ten: one elected from each of the seven sunflower districts; one member each from canola and safflower growers who were appointed by the Governor; and a member appointed by the Director of the Agriculture Experiment Station. 

Membership to the Council increased in 1997 (S. L. 1997, Ch. 62) when a participating grower of crambe was appointed to the Council by the Governor, and in 2001 the Legislature established three canola producing districts (S. L. 2001, Ch. 66) which increased the membership to  fourteen oilseed producing representatives.  The term of office was three years and a member could serve no more than three consecutive terms, until 2009 (S. L. 2009, Ch. 80) when this changed to four consecutive terms. Qualifications included being a citizen of the state and a bona fide resident of and participating grower in the district represented.  If the qualifications of any member should change while serving on the Council the seat is considered vacant, and a qualified member is appointed or the Commissioner of Agriculture conducts an election in that district.

Assessment is made on all oilseeds grown in the state and sold to the first handler.  The Sunflower Growers Association and the Canola Growers Association support the promotion of the oilseed industry.

The North Dakota Oilseed Council is part of the Agricultural Commodity Council.  At the request of the Commissioner of Agriculture, the Legislature amended the Century Code so that the Commissioner or designee became a non-voting member of the Council.  Other commodity group members are the Barley Council, Beef Commission, Beekeepers Association, Corn Utilization Council, Dairy Promotion Commission,  Dry Bean Council,  Dry Pea and Lentil Council, Potato Council, and the Soybean Council (S. L. 2009, Ch. 70, Ch. 80).     


1977       The North Dakota Sunflower Council was created, and one member from each of the six  districts selected to serve on the Council (S. L. 1977, Ch. 52).

1979       County Agriculture Extension Agents authorized by the Commissioner of Agriculture to  
conduct elections for Council members in sunflower producing districts (S. L. 1979, Ch. 96).

1981       State law required several agricultural commodity groups including the Sunflower  
Council, Beef Commission, Dairy Products Promotion Commission, and the Wheat                Commission to share offices and administrative responsibilities (S. L.1981, Ch. 96) Repealed in 2005 (S. L. 2005, Ch. 68).

1985       Sunflower producing districts increase to seven (S. L. 1985, Ch. 92).

1989       Sunflower Council becomes the North Dakota Oilseed Council and includes safflower,
canola (rapeseed), crambe, and flax. Numerous changes concerning Council membership (S. L. 1989, Ch. 76).

1991       Stricter penalties on first handlers who violate the usage of assessments (S.L. 1991, Ch. 61).

1997       Governor appoints one crambe grower as member of Oilseed Council (S.L. 1997, Ch. 62).

1999       Canola seed must meet certification standards as set by the Commissioner of  
Agriculture (S. L. 1999, Ch. 56).

2001       Legislature establishes three canola seed districts.  One representative from each  
district serves on the Council (S. L. 2001, Ch. 66).

2009       Legislature makes changes in the membership nomination and qualification  process. 
Oilseed Council joins the Agricultural Commodity Council.  Chapter amended in North Dakota Century Code (S. L. 2009, Ch.70, Ch. 80).

2009       Increases in per-bushel assessments on sunflower, canola, and flax.  Safflower and  
crambe assessments remain unchanged (S. L. 2009, Ch. 83).

2011       The Century Code was amended [NDCC 4-24-09] relating to investments of the agricultural commodity funds as established by the State Treasurer [NDCC 21-10-07] and the Oilseed Council was included in this legislation (S.L. 2011, Ch. 61).   The Oilseed Council represents canola, crambe, flax, rapeseed, safflowers, and sunflowers.

2015   The Century Code [NDCC 4-14.2-02] addressed establishing the Northern Crops Council, and the Northern Crops Institute.  Selected to serve on the Northern Crop Council which sets the policy for the Northern Crop Institute is a member of the Oilseed Council (S.L. 2015, Ch. 65).

2017       Legislation made changes to the Century Code [NDCC 4.1- 01 – 12] concerning all commodity groups including the Oilseed Council and the role of the Commissioner of Agriculture.   Legislation also addressed the Agricultural Commodity Assessments Funds [NDCC 4.1- 54 – 03] and the investment income allocation established by the State Treasurer. A credit of twenty percent of the investment income derived from the Oilseed Council Fund goes into the general fund for accounting, printing, data processing, legal, and other services [NDCC 21 - 10 – 07] with the remaining eighty percent allotted to the Council. (S.L. 2017, Ch. 61). Reports from the Oilseed Council submitted to the Standing Agriculture Committee of each House of the Legislative Assembly contained a summary of the activities of the Oilseed Council during the current biennium,  a statement of revenues and expenditures for the next biennium, and a copy of the report submitted to the State Auditor providing a statement of revenues and expenditures for the previous two fiscal years. (S.L. 2017, Ch. 61).


31993   Records.


North Dakota Century Code, Chapter 4 and 4.1.
North Dakota Secretary of State Blue Book.
North Dakota State Legislature Session Laws.

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Appointments are recommended. To schedule an appointment, please contact us at 701.328.2091 or
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666

Social Media:
See all social media accounts