Our state museums and historic sites are back open with some changes and guidelines for the health and safety of our visitors and staff. Learn more

SHSND Home Archives State Agencies Economic Development and Finance Division
The State Archives is open by apointment only. To schedule an appointment, please contact us at 701.328.2091 or archives@nd.gov.

OCLC WorldCat Logo

Digital Horizons

2019-2021 Blue Book Cover

Federal Depository Library Program

Chronicling America

Archives - State Agencies - Economic Development and Finance Division

[NDCC 54-34.3-01]     
The Division of Economic Development and Finance assumed the powers and functions of the Department of Economic Development and Finance which was created in 1991 (S. L. 1991, Ch. 95) to assume the functions, powers, and duties of the Economic Development Commission. The Century Code was amended to enumerate the mission of the division that initially consisted of a finance office and an international trade office, and any other office as deemed necessary by the director. The division was to be responsible for attracting and creating new wealth-generating enterprises in North Dakota, for promoting economic diversification and innovation within basic industries and economic sectors, and encouraging increased productivity and value-added products and processes. The division was charged to maintain and revitalize economically-depressed rural areas, support partnerships with sources of financial and intellectual capital, and identify state statutes and rules that were an impediment to economic development. It was to work closely with the Bank of North Dakota.

Original programs within the Department were: the Agricultural Products Utilization Commission (APUC); Business Development; Office of International Trade; Research & Intelligence; North Dakota Development Fund (NDDF); the North Dakota American Indian Business Office; and Women's Business Development.  Others programs were the North Dakota Rural Development Council and the North Dakota Workforce Development Council.  In 2011, there were 17 commissions, offices, centers, partnerships, and programs under the administration of the Division of Economic Development and Finance.

The Commission on the Status of Women was already established and was housed within the Division Economic Development and Finance. It consists of five members.  The Commission on the Status of Women’s coordinates activities and serves as a clearinghouse and advisory group for the Division of Economic Development and Finance on information relating to economic development programs with a focus on the career development of women [NDCC 54-34.3-10]. 


1991       The Economic Development and Finance Department created in 1991 assumed the powers and functions of the Economic Development Commission (S. L. 1991, Ch. 95).

1997       The division of Science and Technology and the original responsibilities of the deputy director duties were repealed (S. L. 1997, Ch. 48).

2001       The Commerce Department was created in 2001 (S. L. 2001, Ch. 488), absorbing three cabinet-level departments including the former Department of Economic Development and Finance. The publishing and mailing of publications in conjunction with other agencies or private entities was repealed (S. L. 2001, Ch. 488).

2003       The deputy director position was replaced with an administrator of the finance office (S. L. 2003, Ch. 477).

2005       Three new sections were added to the Century Code [NDCC 54-60] including duties relating to the International Business and Trade Office certification program for local economic developers  (S. L. 2005, Ch. 46).

2007       The International Business and Trade Office advisory board was repealed (S. L. 2007, Ch. 493).

2009       The finance office was repealed (S. L. 2009, Ch. 480).

2011       The Value-added Agriculture Promotion Board was repealed (S. L. 2011, Ch. 439).


32270 Research Report and Products
32299 Economic Development Foundation
32328 EmPower North Dakota


North Dakota Century Code.
North Dakota Department of Commerce Website.
North Dakota Secretary of State Blue Book.
North Dakota State Legislature Session Laws.

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 11 a.m. - 4 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
We are open until noon on Christmas Eve.
State Archives: 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 11 a.m. - 4 p.m.
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666
email: history@nd.gov

Social Media:
See all social media accounts