SHSND Home > Historic Preservation > Certified Local Governments > List of CLGs > Grand Forks

CLG - Grand Forks

City of Grand Forks Certified Local Government

“The commission is charged with safeguarding the heritage of Grand Forks through preservation of those elements that reflect its cultural, social, economic, political and architectural history and with promoting the historic districts and landmarks of the city.”

North Dakota Map of Grand Forks CLG

City of Grand Forks CLG; Certified 02/07/90
Contact: Ms. Peg O’Leary
poleary@grandforksgov.com
Coordinator, Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
1405 First Avenue North
P.O. Box 13876
Grand Forks, ND  58208-3876
701-772-8756

Regular Meeting Schedule: 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month 6:30 P.M. City Hall

City of Grand Forks (ND) Historic Preservation Commission

Sharon Bures
Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
28 Conklin Avenue
Grand Forks, ND 58203
701-772-6028
701-792-2893 (work)
sbures@grandforksgov.com

Chuck Flemmer
2nd Vice Chair Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
412 S. 5th Street
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-746-0288
701-746-0072 (work)
chuckflemmer2@gmail.com

Marsha Gunderson
Chair, Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
1114 Chestnut Street
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-772-4591
701-787-6731 (work)
mgunderson@gra.midco.net

Dr. Gordon Iseminger
Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
2420 9th Avenue North
Grand Forks, ND 58203
701-772-6333
701-777-2688 (work)
history_und@und.nodak.edu
Historian

Dr. Melinda Leach
Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
809 Cherry Street
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-746-1299
701-777-3697 (work)
melinda.leach@email.und.edu
Archaeologist

Cory Lein
Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
1434 S. 15th Street
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-795-3272 (work)
701-741-3797 (cell)
clien@undalumni.net

Douglas Munski
UND Department of Geography
2111 4th Avenue North
Grand Forks, ND 58203
701-772-8207
701-777-4591 (work)
218-779-4956 (cell)
douglas.munski@email.und.edu

Gerad Paul
Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
3202 Belmont Road
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-795-5801
701-795-4000 (work)
gpaul@minnkota.com

Dale Sickels
Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
2414 West Fallcreek Court
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-746-4923
701-747-4581 (work)
sickelsdale@yahoo.com
Architect

Sandy Slater
Vice-Chair, Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
710 9th Avenue South
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-775-5093
slaters7@midco.net
Archivist

Judy Swisher
Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
420 Franklin Avenue
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-775-7798
jswisher@gra.midco.net

Staff

Peg O'Leary
Coordinator, Grand Forks Historic Preservation Commission
1405 First Avenue North
P.O. Box 13876
Grand Forks, ND 58208-3876
701.772.8756
701.792.2894 (FAX)
poleary@grandforksgov.com

Governance

The Honorable Michael R. Brown
Mayor of Grand Forks
Grand Forks City Hall
255 N 4th St.
P.O. Box 5200
Grand Forks, ND 58206-5200

Councilman Terry Bjerke
Grand Forks City Commission
5356 5th Avenue, North
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-746-1017
tbjerke@grandforksgov.com

Councilman Doug Christensen
Grand Forks City Commission
19 Inland Hills Court
Grand Fork, ND 58201
701-775-0521
dchristensen@grandforksgov.com

Councilman Hal Gershman
Grand Forks City Commission
517 Reeves Drive
Grand Fork, ND 58201
701-780-0902
hgershman@grandforksgov.com

Councilman Eliot Glassheim
Grand Forks City Commission
619 North 3rd Street
Grand Fork, ND 58201
701-772-8840
eglassheim@grandforksgov.com

Councilman Tyrone Grandstrand
Grand Forks City Commission
1603 10th Avenue North
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-330-1713
tgrandstrand@grandforksgov.com

Councilman Curt Kreun
Grand Forks City Commission
1401 South 35th Street
Grand Fork, ND 58201
701-795-8829
ckreun@grandforksgov.com

Councilman Dana Sande
Grand Forks City Commission
5889 Fountain Vista Dr.
Grand Forks, ND 58201
701-330-9284
dsande@grandforksgov.com

Year Federal Share Matching Share Total Project Description
2010 $26,110.00 $35,165.00 $61,275.00 CLG Administration, NR Nomination, Brochure, CLG Workshop
2009 $28,164.00 $34,892.00 $63,056.00 CLG Administration, National Register Nominations of the B'nai Israel Synagogue & Montefiore Cemetery, WPA Stonework at Calvary and Memorial Park Cemeteries and Kegs Drive In.
2008 $25,481.00 $35,092.00 $60,573.00 CLG Administration, Historic District Street signs, NR Nomination of Grant Forks County Fairground WPA structures, Riverside Historic District plaque.
2007 $32,688.00 $31,580.00 $64,268.00 CLG Administration, UND National Register nomination
2006 $34,946.00 $31,310.00 $66,256.00 CLG Administration, re-grants to the Hook & Ladder Building, Dinnie Apartmetns and Jacks Building, web page development
2005 $26,320.00 $29,910.00 $56,230.00 CLG Administration, National Register Nomination of Riverside District, walking tour brochure
2004 $30,000.00 $29,085.00 $59,085.00 CLG Administration and to survey the Near Northside.
2003 $27,261.00 $29,131.33 $56,392.33 CLG Administration, hosted annual preservation conference and CLG meeting for state, wrote downtown Grand Forks district nomination.
2002 $28,261.00 $10,599.68 $38,860.68 CLG Administration and to complete a NR district nomination of the City's near South side.
2001 $33,572.00 $49,168.00 $82,740.00 CLG Administration and provide development funds for local property.
2000 $29,977.00 $28,543.00 $58,520.00 Survey and Inventory

Address:
612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

Hours:
State Museum and Store: 8am - 5pm M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10am - 5pm.
State Archives: 8am - 4:30pm., M-F, except state holidays, and 2nd Sat. of each month, 10am - 4:30 pm.
State Historical Society offices: 8am - 5pm M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: (701) 328-2666
fax: (701) 328-3710
email: histsoc@nd.gov