SHSND Home > Historic Sites > Chateau de Mores

Chateau de Mores State Historic Site

blue triangle content image

Located southwest of Medora, this site memorializes the life and activities in North Dakota of Antoine de Vallombrosa, the Marquis de Mores, who arrived in 1883. Among his enterprises were a beef packing plant, a stagecoach line, a freighting company, refrigerated railway cars, cattle and sheep raising, land ownership, and a new town which he called Medora, in honor of his wife.

Chateau de Mores - This 26-room, two-story frame building was built in 1883 as the summer residence of the Marquis's family. The Chateau is now a historic house museum and contains many of the original furnishings and personal effects of the de Mores family. Visits through the house are available during the summer months, and there is an admission charge. School and commercial bus tour group rates. Allow one hour for visit.

De Mores Memorial Park - Located in downtown Medora, the park has a bronze statue of the Marquis de Mores donated in 1926 by his sons. The statue is surrounded by a flagstone courtyard, the result of a 1938 WPA project.

Packing Plant/Chimney Park - Situated on the west edge of Medora, the site once contained the plant, a slaughterhouse, three icehouses, several outbuildings, a railroad spur track, and a corral. The building burned in 1907, leaving the tall, native clay brick chimney standing. A picnic area is located next to the plant.

History Alive! - History Alive! programs explore the lives and times of local residents from decades gone by, combining theater arts with history. The 20-minute monologues are based on original letters, diaries, and other documents, many from the archives of the State Historical Society of North Dakota. This free program is presented on the porch of the Chateau Saturdays and Sundays at 10:30 a.m., 1:30 p.m., and 3:30 p.m. from June through August.

Carriage Rides - Experience the beauty of the Little Missouri River as you take a two-mile carriage ride through the badlands. Purchase tickets at the Chateau de Mores Interpretive Center. The carriage operates daily from 10 a.m. to noon and 2-4 p.m., weather and trail conditions permitting.

Walking Tour of Historic Medora now available for download.

Lesson Plan & Education Materials Available

Facebook logo Follow Chateau de Mores State Historic Site on Facebook!

Address:
1/8 miles W and 1/8 miles S of
Medora Chimney Park -
west edge of Medora
De Mores Memorial Park -
downtown Medora, ND 58654
Get Directions

The Interpretive Center is open year round.
Winter Hours: Labor Day-Memorial Day
9 a.m.-5 p.m. MDT, Tuesday-Saturday
Summer Hours: Memorial Day-Labor Day
8:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m. daily with the last tickets sold at 4:30 p.m.

The Chateau is open May-October, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. daily, weather permitting. Please call to verify.

Chimney Park and DeMores Memorial Park open year round.

Contact Chateau de Mores:
phone: (701) 623-4355
fax: (701) 623-4921

Contact SHSND:
phone: (701) 328-2666
fax: (701) 328-3710
email: histsoc@nd.gov