Located at 320 E. Ave. B in Bismarck, the site consists of a large two and one-half story, restored Victorian house and a carriage house. Constructed in 1884, it housed 20 chief executives between 1893 and 1960. Unique room exhibits feature the restoration process, architectural style changes, and furniture used by several governors.
This house was the North Dakota governors' residence from 1893 to 1960. It was built in 1884 as a private residence by Asa Fisher. At various times he was a wholesale liquor dealer, register of the Bismarck Land Office, and president of the First National Bank. He sold this house to the state for $5,000 in 1893.
In 1975 the State Historical Society of North Dakota was given the house with the hope that it would operate as a historic house museum. Extensive research and restoration has been completed, restoring the house to its former appearance as it might have been in 1893. Throughout the house are restoration features which are highlighted to show visitors what work has been done. These features include samples of wallpaper that have been exposed to indicate changes in style and taste.
320 East Avenue B.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
May 15th - September 15th
10 a.m - 5 p.m, Mon. - Fri.; Noon - 4:00 pm, Sat. & Sun.
October - May
1 p.m. - 5 p.m., Second Friday and Saturday of each month
Other times by appointment.
Site grounds open year round.
Contact Former Governors' Mansion:
phone: (701) 328-9528
phone: (701) 328-2666
fax: (701) 328-3710